First Lines

What if you judged a book – not by its cover – but by its first line? I’m just putting out some new books, what do you think of these first lines?

“At last my hands have stopped shaking and I can write.” – Down the Rabbit Hole by Susan Campbell Bartoletti

“I want to say at the very start that I am not the type to do this.” – A City Tossed and Broken by Judy Blundell

“There were ten items on Coke McDonald’s to-do list for the month of July.” – You Only Die Twice by Dan Gutman

“On the morning I was scheduled to die, a large barefoot man with a bushy red beard waddled past my house.” – Seven Wonders: The Colossus Rises by Peter Lerangis

“It was the bitterest, meanest, darkest, coldest winter in anyone’s memory, even in one of the forgotten neighborhoods of Chicago.” – Hold Fast by Blue Balliett

“I remember my mom quoting ‘the fog comes in on little cat feet’ and my dad replying ‘more like big elephant feet’ ” – Serendipity & Me by Judith L. Roth

” Ever told a lie to save yourself?” – Burned by Sara Shepard

“I can’t believe what I’m witnessing.” – Witch & Wizard: The Kiss by James Patterson & Jill Dembowski

“My brother is a philosopher.” – Pieces by Chris Lynch

“I am the voice in the dark, calling out for your help.” – In Darkness by Nick Lake

“In the momentous year of 1776, on the twenty-second of September, my mother and I were rushing back to the city of New York.” – Sophia’s War: A Tale of the Revolution by Avi

“One summer night I fell asleep, hoping the world would be different when I woke.” – Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Saenz

Have a favorite first line from a book? Share it!

What's on your mind?

